1. This website uses cookies. By continuing to use this website you are giving consent to cookies being used.
    For information on cookies and how you can disable them visit our Cookie Usage page.
    Dismiss Notice

PHP Forum Help (newb)

Discussion in 'Web Development' started by Dizzie92, Oct 19, 2007.

1. Dizzie92

Dizzie92 New Member

Im a total newb when it comes to stuff like this...but even tho i have a free hosting site, I would like forums to be on there. Could some1 please give me a COMPLETE tutorial on how i would do this. Thanks

2. elegos

elegos New Member

nowadays creating a new forum is a n00bproof process :p

1. download phpBB (free forum PHP software) from here: http://www.phpbb.com/
    2. upload the contents onto your server (like in a new 'forums' folder)
    3. goto yoursite.net/forums and follow the instructions, it will ask you host, user and password for you MySQL server (you should have one, if you don't, try here: http://www.freesql.org/ or @ any freemysql services
    4. you'll also create your own user, who will be the administrator of the forum
    5. when the procedure will end, you'll be asked to delete the install file (it will say you what to do in any case), then you'll be able to admin (add/rmove categories/forums) as like as you want ^^ (it's a graphical interface, not that hard to understand the functions ^^)

cheers

NOTE:
    If you're under a linux server the installer may say you have to edit some CHMOD values of some folders: nothing easier ^^ Goto your FTP client (if you don't have any, try www.smartftp.com), right-click on the remote folder and click on: Edit CHMOD and set it as the installer asks you ^^

3. Dizzie92

Dizzie92 New Member